SOUTHERN CARET DELEGATES

(Year Appointed and Appointing Institutions)

OFFICERS
(officers change January 1)

Chair - Rodd Moesel, Oklahoma
Chair-elect - Oscar Taylor, Texas
Secretary - Jim Handley, Florida

CARET Executive Committee Representatives:
Noland Ramsey, North Carolina
Elvis Graves, North Carolina
Robert H. Foree, Kentucky

ALABAMA

Billy Bridgeforth (1999)
Alabama A&M University
Post Office Box 156
Tanner, AL  35671-0156
Tel:   (256) 232-6527 (home)
         (256) 232-2049 (office)
Fax:  (256) 232-2787
billbridge@aol.com

Brian Hardin (2014)
Auburn University
Director, Governmental and  Agricultural Programs
Alabama Farmers Federation
Post Office Box 11000
Montgomery, AL  36191-0001
Tel:   (334) 613-4217
Fax:  (334) 284-3957
bhardin@alfafarmers.org

Ronald L. Shumack (2014)
Tuskegee University
3613 County Road 7
Repton, AL  36475-8210
Tel:  (251) 369-1320
shumarl@auburn.edu

J. B. Turner, Jr. (2017)
Auburn University
9706 Wall-Tirana Highway
Harvest, AL  35749-8375
Tel:  (256) 722-9077
E-Mail:  jbt722@aol.com

ARKANSAS

L. Dow Brantley (2009)
University of Arkansas
Partner, Brantley Farming Company
4091 Central High Road
England, AR  72046-9077
Tel:   (501) 275-3826
Fax:  (501) 275-1005
ldbrantley@aol.com

Mildred Barnes Griggs (2014)
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
1333 Highway 44
Marianna, AR  72360-9999
Tel:   (870) 295-6144
Fax:  (870) 630-2005
mbgriggs@uiuc.edu

Debra G. Moreland (1995)
University of Arkansas
20311 Lake Vista Drive
Roland, AR  72135-9390
Tel:   (501) 868-5294
Fax:  (501) 868-9296
debbiepinreal@aol.com

Scott N. Sullivan (2013)
University of Arkansas
Owner-Manager
Triple S Farm and Ranch
1833 North Ninth Street
DeQueen, AR  71832-3507
Tel:  (870) 584-8990
Fax:  (870) 642-5116
sullivanscottn@yahoo.com

FLORIDA

Jorge Abreu (2006)
University of Florida
Executive Director
Dade County Farm Bureau
1850 Old Dixie Highway
Homestead, FL  33033-3298
Tel:  (305) 246-5514
Fax:  (305) 245-9170
jorge.abreu@ffbic.com

Billie L. Dean (1998)
Florida A&M University
1140 Lexington Parkway
Apopka, FL  32712-2699
Tel:   (407) 889-4123
Fax:  (407) 889-0531
bdean@apopka.net

Fred J. Gainous (2017)
Florida A&M University
Owner-Operator
Corncob’s Coastal Bermuda Hay Farm
Post Office Box 656
Live Oak, FL  32064-0656
Tel:  (850) 459-4726
Fax:  (850) 776-2560
E-Mail:  fredjgainous@hotmail.com

Jim Handley (2011)
University of Florida
Executive Vice President
Florida Cattlemen’s Association
Post Office Box 421929
Kissimmee, FL  34742-1929
Tel:  (407) 846-6221
Fax:  (407) 933-8209
jim@floridacattlemen.org

Madeline E. Mellinger (1998 and 2009)
University of Florida
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Glades Crop Care, Inc.
949 Turner Quay
Jupiter, FL  33458-4339
Tel:   (561) 746-3740
Fax:  (561) 746-3775
mmellinger@gladescropcare.com

GEORGIA

Patty J. Bentley (2011)
Fort Valley State University
404 East Eighth Street
Butler, GA  31062-5250
Tel:  (478) 862-3796
Fax:  (478) 862-2871
pattyjbentley@gmail.com

Marjorie (Betts) J. Berry (2015)
University of Georgia
Owner/Operator, Hurtland Enterprises, L.P.
546 Tom Hunt Road
Chickamauga, GA  30707-6013
Tel:  (423) 598-3867
berrymej@aol.com

Willie Buchanan (2008)
Fort Valley State University
Post Office Box 740603
Tuscumbia, AL  35674-7420
Tel:  (256) 810-6614
Fax:  (256) 383-2080
willie_buchanan@bellsouth.net

KENTUCKY

Robert H. Foree (2014)
University of Kentucky
2440 Eminence Road
Eminence, KY  40019-6443
Tel:  (502) 845-4947
Fax:  (502) 845-4600
robertforee@bellsouth.net

Alice Glover (2014)
Kentucky State University
Owner and Founder
JITA Snacks, LLC
6408 Overton Road
Louisville, KY  40228-1252
Tel:  (502) 239-0192
jitasnacks@gmail.com

Jane Metcalf  O’Tiernan (2014)
Kentucky State University
4348 Simpson Lane
Richmond, KY  40475-9114
Tel:  (859) 624-1020
zinniajane@att.net

William A. Smith (2007)
University of Kentucky
2355 Rice Pike
Union, KY  41091-9641
Tel:   (859) 384-3962
Fax:  (859) 384-7621
wsmithrsi@aol.com

LOUISIANA

Carrie Castille (2013)
Louisiana State University
204 Rees Street
Breaux Bridge, LA  70517-4612
Tel:  (331) 303-6995
carriecastille@yahoo.com

Lynda D. Danos (2007)
Louisiana State University
Coordinator, Ag In The Classroom
Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation
Post Office Box 95004
Baton Rouge, LA  70895-5004
Tel:   (225) 922-6503
Fax:  (225) 922-6229
lyndad@lfbf.org

Deacue Fields, Jr. (2015)
Southern University and A&M College
603 Carver Street
Winnsboro, LA  71295-3856
Tel:   (318) 435-9202
Fax:  (318) 435-7609
marriafields@bellsouth.net

Charles A. “Buck” Vandersteen (1993)
Louisiana State University
Executive Director
Louisiana Forestry Association
Post Office Drawer 5067
Alexandria, LA  71307-5067
Tel:   (318) 443-2558 (Work)
         (318) 473-0672 (Home)
Fax:  (318) 443-1713
bvan@laforestry.com

MISSISSIPPI

Gary A. Blair (2009)
Mississippi State University
Vice President and Relationship Manager
Southern AgCredit
130 South Whitworth Avenue
Brookhaven, MS  39602-0868
Tel:   (601) 833-1771
Fax:  (601) 833-1774
gary.blair@southernagcredit.com

Ben F. Burkett (2011)
Alcorn State University
233 East Hamilton Street
Jackson, MS  39202-3231
Tel:  (601) 354-2750
Fax:  (601) 877-6219
benburkett601@gmail.com

Sells J. Newman, Jr. (2012)
Mississippi State University
Senior Vice President, Marketing and Legislative Affairs
First South Farm Credit
113 Ridgecrest Drive
Ridgeland, MS  39157-2538
Tel:  (601) 977-8352
Fax:  (601) 977-8388
snewman@firstsouthland.com

Clyde Douglas Simmons, III (2017)
Mississippi State University
Partner
Simmons Planting Company
Post Office Box 65
Arcola, MS  38722-0065
Tel:  (662) 827-2950
E-Mail:  cdsimmons2@gmail.com

Delmer Stamps (2017)
Alcorn State University
549 Cedarwood Drive
Jackson, MS  39212-2221
Tel:   (601) 940-3340
Fax:  (601) 877-6219
E-Mail:  delmerstamps@bellsouth.net

NORTH CAROLINA

Elvis L. Graves (2013)
North Carolina A&T State University
5576 Dwight Drive
McLeansville, NC  27301-9125
Tel:  (336) 447-0327
elvisgraves@yahoo.com

J. Noland Ramsey (2009)
North Carolina State University
178 Broyles Road
Hendersonville, NC  28791-9714
Tel:   (828) 891-7160
ramseylandandcattle@yahoo.com

Dewey R. Scott (2013)
North Carolina State University
Scott Farms
7965-A Simpson Road
Lucama, NC  27851-9371
Tel:   (877) 284-4030
Fax:  (919) 284-4872
dewey@scottfarms.com

OKLAHOMA

Lester Clark (2015)
Langston University
Post Office Box 505
Langston, OK  73050-0505
Tel:   (405) 466-9970
jarichclark@gmail.com

Claud D. Evans (1999)
Oklahoma State University
Okfuskee County Veterinary Clinic
Post Office Box 362
Okemah, OK  74859-0362
Tel:   (918) 623-1166
Fax:  (918) 623-1188
cde@cevanse.com

Rodd Moesel (2012)
Oklahoma State University
President
American Plant Products & Services, Inc.
9200 NW 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK  73127-7430
Tel:  (405) 787-4833
Fax:  (405) 789-2352
rmoesel@americanplant.com

PUERTO RICO

Damarys del Castillo (2008)
University of Puerto Rico
Quality Control Director
Goya de Puerto Rico, Inc.
315 Calle Pinal del Mar
Camuy, PR  00627
Tel:  (787) 740-4900  Ext. 2032
Fax:  (787) 622-7216
ddcastillo16@yahoo.com

Lucas P. Valdivieso (1999)
University of Puerto Rico
Post Office Box 1144
Peñuelas, PR  00624-1144
Tel:   (787) 836-1818
Fax:  (787) 836-2978
jvaltor@aol.com

SOUTH CAROLINA

Phil Perry (2017)
Clemson University
Seed Salesman & Certified Crop Adviser
700 North Jefferson Street
Saluda, SC  29138-1120
Tel:  (864) 993-5145
E-Mail:  philperrysc@gmail.com

Erica S. Prioleau-Taylor (2014)
South Carolina State University
9975 Black Willow Lane
Ladson, SC  29456-8525
Tel:  (843) 296-2872
E-Mail:  erica_taylor@charleston.k12.sc.us

TENNESSEE

James Brown, Jr. (2017)
Tennessee State University
2507 Holman Lane
Springfield, TN  37172-4319
Tel:  (615) 330-8125
E-Mail:  jbrow02507@comcast.net

Robert David Fugate (2004)
University of Tennessee
1410 McConnell Road
Greenback, TN  37742-3316
Tel:   (865) 856-3257
Fax:  (865) 856-0011
rfugate@hughes.net

Charles (Chuck) Adam Yoest (2016)
University of Tennessee
6561 Arno Road
College Grove, TN  37046-8912
Tel:   (615) 342-9293
chuck.yoest@tn.gov

TEXAS

Ernest B. Collins (2011)
Prairie View A&M University
16903 Windypine Drive
Spring, TX  77379-6430
Tel:  (281) 851-9198
Fax:  (281) 320-2046
E-Mail:  ebcffc@gmail.com

Jerry D. Harris (2003)
Texas A&M University

Chief Executive Officer & General Manager
King-Mesa Gin, Inc.
Post Office Box 304
Lamesa, TX  79331-0304
Tel:  (806) 462-7351
Fax:  (806) 462-7355
kingmesa@poka.com

Marcus Edward Hill (2014)
Prairie View A&M University
President, Ag Workers
Post Office Box 88
Fort Worth, TX  76101-0088
Tel:  (817) 999-7932
Fax:  (817) 831-7548
president@agworkers.com

Milo J. Shult (2012)
Texas A&M University
Post Office Box 30
2078 Salt Branch Loop
Doss, TX  78618-0030
Tel:  (830) 669-2724
mshult43@gmail.com

Oscar D. Taylor (2010)
Prairie View A&M University
19015 Match Play Drive
Atascocita, TX  77345-6103
Tel:  (713) 301-3922
Fax:  (281) 852-9665
otaylor85@gmail.com

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Grantley Samuel (2015)
University of the Virgin Islands
33 L Estate Whim
Post Office Box 2912
Frederiksted, St. Croix
U. S. Virgin Islands  00841-2912
Tel: (340) 332-3932
grantley444@gmail.com

VIRGINIA

Richard T. Crowder (2011)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Apartment #1219
501 Slaters Lane
Alexandria, VA  22314-1139
Tel:   (703) 684-0844
Fax:  (540) 231-7417
rcrowder@vt.edu

Katie K. Frazier (2013)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
President, Virginia Agribusiness Council
Suite 111
1025 Boulders Parkway
North Chesterfield, VA  23225-5549
Tel:   (804) 643-3555
Fax:  (804) 643-3556
katie@va-agribusiness.org

Larry S. Holmes (2014)
Virginia State University
6365 Reading Court
Port Tobacco, MD  20677-3434
Tel:  (301) 392-0836
laholmes95@yahoo.com

CARET Staff

Eddie G. Gouge
Executive Director, CARET
APLU
Suite 400
1307 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20005-4722
Tel:  (202) 478-6028
Fax:  (202) 478-6046
egouge@aplu.org

Suzette T. Robinson
Program Assistant, CARET/APS
APLU
Suite 400
1307 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20005-4722
Tel:  (202) 478-6024
Fax:  (202) 478-6046
srobinson@aplu.org

 

Updated May 23, 2016