DAFVM Faculty Senate

Minutes of DAFVM Senate Meeting: April 13, 2017

Attending: Greg Bohach, Brandi Karisch, Caleb Lemley, Florencia Meyer, Jiaxu Li, Jason Barrett, Bisoondat Macoon, Simone Hinz, Don Cook, Tom Allen, John Willis, Donna Peterson, Kurt Showmaker, Chuo Li, Stephen Meyers, Brien Henry, Raja Reddy, Wes Neal, Julie Parker, Jason Street

Excused: Bill Herndon, Anna Linhoss, Lurleen Walters, Eric Stafne, Bindu Nanduri, Chinling Wang, Mariah Morgan, Brittney Oliver, Jason Gordon, Mike Barnes, Kelley Wamsley

Absent: John Long, Brian Williams, Ryan Butler, David Christiansen, Sherrill Fleming, Michael Mauel, Lisa Noffsinger, Scott Samson

Meeting called to order:  1:30 by Chair, Dr. Karisch.

Motion made to accept March 9, 2017 minutes. Vote taken, all in favor, motion carried.

Chair Report:  Delayed discussion until New Business

Report from Office of the Vice President:  Dr. Bohach, Dr. Jackson, and Dr. Hopper

Dr. Jackson (Extension update).  Working on FY 18 budget and submitted a budget reduction plan.  Appreciative of external funds that have been received.  29 agent and 8 faculty vacancies through attrition, retirements, and resignations.  Numerous upcoming Extension events.

Dr. Hopper (CALS/MAFES update).  FY18 budget has been focus.  Trying to avoid a RIF.  Several vacancies currently exist.  The new road through South Farm should open this fall by football season.

Dr. Bohach. DAFVM is doing everything possible to minimize releasing people from jobs and preventing a reduction in services.  Submitted plan last Friday to Dr. Keenum who will present to IHL Commission. 

Committee Reports:

Academic Affairs:  Dr. Peterson presented the DAFVM Faculty Senate subcommittee recommendation submitted to Drs. Bohach, Jackson, and Hopper regarding committee formation for the College P&T processes (CALS and CFR).  Various options have been discussed by administration, Extension representatives to the Holland Faculty Senate, and the abovementioned DAFVM Faculty Senate subcommittee.  The goal is to be one faculty.  May 4th meeting will be held to discuss further.  The P&T Committee charters will ultimately need to be changed. 

No other committee reports.

Old Business:  College P&T Committee makeup recommendations discussed above

New Business:  Time for new senator elections.  Need names of new senators by May 11th meeting.  Also need nominations for new DAFVM Faculty Senate Officers.  Jason Barrett nominated for Chair; Anna Linhoss nominated for Secretary.

Motion to adjourn:  2:32pm

Next meeting:  May 11, 2017, 1:30 PM


Return to minutes page